Stormy Weather

- Racing History -

© The Skipper, 1999

| Index |


Owner 1933 – Philip LeBoutillier
1934 New London-Bermuda 7th Overall, 7th Class A. Winner was Edlu (S&S), Stormy Weather was the only boat not to reef.
1935 Transatlantic, Newport to Bergen First Overall Rod Stephens Jr. was skipper. More details.
1935 Fastnet First Overall Rod Stephens Jr was skipper. More details.
1936 Bermuda Race First in Class, second Overall a tough race, ten out of forty two boats retired damaged. Five nations represented, 16 brand new boats, many "copies" of Stormy Weather.
1936 Brooklyn Cup (Fire Island) 2nd Overall and 2nd Class A behind Edlu Very light breezes and short of crew.
Owner 1937 – R.W. "Bob" Johnson
1937 Miami to Nassau Race First Overall Rod Stephens Jr. was skipper, the whole race was a windward slog.
1937 Governor’s Cup DSQ disqualified for going the wrong way around a mark (as did all boats except two), Rod Stephens was skipper and Governor Clifford, who donated the Cup, was on board.
1938 Miami to Nassau Race First Overall three boats were refused the start, four more decided not to start, six retired, one sank. Stormy Weather won easily. Ducky Endt was aboard, one report gives him as skipper.
1939 – Feb. 14th Miami to Nassau Race 1st Overall skippered by Rod Stephens. Not very pleasant weather, much of it hard on the wind. Stormy Weather ripped the genoa track off losing 15 minutes but won all the same.
Owner April? 1939 – W.H. "Bill" Labrot
1939 – June 24 New London-Annapolis 3rd Class A, 7th Overall 465 mile drifter, First race for new owner
1940 – February Miami-Nassau 1st Overall for the 4th consecutive time
1940 – March 10th St Petersburg-Havana 2nd Overall behind Bob Johnson’s new Good News (S&S), acclaimed as the nec plus ultra with aluminium spars and coffee grinders!
1941 – early February Lipton Cup 2nd Overall behind Bellisarius, 54 foot Herreshoff yawl
1941 – 11th February Miami-Nassau 1st Overall ahead of Escapade and Good News. This is Stormy Weather’s fifth consecutive Overall victory and the press (and the competitors) no longer know what to say…
1941 – 1st March St Petersburg-Havana 3rd Overall behind 72 foot yawl Gulf Stream and Good News
1941 Tied (with Gulf Stream) for First Overall in the S.O.R.C. (Southern Ocean Racing Conference.)
Owner 1947 – Fred Temple
1947 – 13 Feb Miami-Nassau 1st Class A, 2nd Overall 15 to 20 knots of breeze at the start, 55 at the finish. Two boats including Ticonderoga were dismasted.
1947St Petersburg-Havana 4th Overall but took line honours for the "President of Cuba" trophy.
1947 – late April Fort Lauderdale-Cat Cay 1st Overall skippered by Bill Main. The USCG chase boat was holed and sunk by a sword fish
1947 – 19th JulyChicago-Mackinac 5th Class A over 331 miles
1947Mills Race Trophy 2nd Overall behind Royono
1947The Bluenose Trophy First Overall. Stormy Weather’s only season on the Great Lakes.
1948 – January 23rd Fort Lauderdale-Cat Cay 2nd Overall behind Owens designed Ocean Queen who came from behind after a win shift.
1948 – Feb 10thMiami-Nassau First in Class A (unbeaten since 1936), but only 2nd Overall behind Ciclon (S&S) by 6 minutes and 4 seconds
1948 – Feb 14Governor’s Cup Race 3rd Overall behind Starlight and Revonoc, both S&S
1948 – March 27St Petersburg-Havana 2nd Class A, 3rd Overall behind brand new Phil Rhodes 76 foot Windjammer II
1948First Overall in the S.O.R.C.
1948 - June 19thNewport-Bermuda10th Class A after hitting a whale.
Owner 1954 – James J. O’Neill
1954 - 28th MayStorm Trisail RaceWinner 190 miles, 63 yachts, Stormy Weather First Overall for her 20th anniversary.
1954 – June 19th Newport-Bermuda 2nd in Class B, 6th Overall77 starters. Small boats were favoured (Class D got 1, 2, 4, 5 Overall), but Stormy Weather won the W.C. Finlay Trophy for First pre-1936 boat and the Grandfather Cup for First skipper over 50.
1954Vineyard Race3rd Overall in 234 mile race from Stamford to Martha’s Vineyard 43 starters, and Stormy Weather beat Gulf Stream, Ondine, Revonoc, Carina, etc
1957New York Yacht Club Cruise, Greenwich to Duck IslandFirst in Class52 miles
Owner 1979 - Current
1985FirstFoxy’s Wooden Boat RaceThe show down with Rob Roy
1985West End Yacht ClubFirst in ClassClassic Boat Race
1985 Sir Francis Drake Cup Won the Cup and First in elapsed and corrected time
1986Sweethearts of the Caribbean? ahead of Rob Roy
1986Antigua Sailing Week1st Classic and Traditional BoatsMollyhawk Trophy
1986Guadeloupe RaceWinnerLost the propeller
1986 Newport to Bermuda 4th First ever wooden, full keel boat measured for IMS.
1987Bequia Easter Regatta First Overall
1987Fastnet fourth in Class
1988Bequia Easter RegattaFirst Overalland set a new record for the Round the Island Race.
1988Antigua Sailing WeekGuadeloupe Race, Cruising Class, First
1988Mollyhawk Trophy ASW, Classic Class, First
1989Bequia Easter Regatta First in Cruising II
1989Guadeloupe Race First Overall, First Cruising Classes
1989Antigua Sailing Week1st Cruising Class IMollyhawk Trophy
1989ASW2nd Overall cruising Classes
1989ASW1stScotland Team 1st
1989RORC, Channel Race third in CHS Class three.
1989RORC Fastnet placed 13th
1989Fastnet Iolaire Block, oldest boat to compete
1989Royal Yacht SquadronCowes Week, placed 7th (42), 20th (51)
1989Royal London Yacht ClubCowes Week, placed 14th, (61)
1990Antigua Yacht ClubOverall winner Riptide Series Christmas 1990
1990Antigua Sailing Week Mollyhawk Trophy, Best Classic Yacht
1990ASW1stScotland Team, First in cruising Class
1990ASW3rd Cruising Class One
1990La Belle Plaisance, Sainte-Marine FirstBeat Penduick
1991Bequia Easter RegattaFirst in Cruising II
1991Antigua Sailing Week1stClassic Class
1991ASW3rd Cruising Class I
1991Antigua Classic Yacht RegattaFirst Overall Wayfarer Marine Trophy, First Overall
1991ACYR1stAschanti of Saba Trophy, First in Classic Class
1991R.O.R.C. Fastnetplaced 50th
1991R.O.R.C.21stCowes week, placed 21st
1992Antigua Sailing Week1stBest Classic Yacht
1992ASW2ndCruising Class II, second
1992Antigua Classic Yacht Regatta1stAschanti of Saba Trophy, Classic Class
1992Transatlantic Race, Bermuda to BrestFirst OverallLeading up to Brset/Dz '92
1992Glandore Classic RegattaFirst
1992Douarnenez, Bol d’OrFirst
1993FastnetIolaire Block, oldest boat to compete, 48th in CHS I Class, 2nd Classic Class
1994Bequia Easter RegattaFirst in Cruising Class I
1994Glandore Classic RegattaFirst
1995FastnetFreddie Morgan Trophy, for a Classic yacht in CHS
1995FastnetFirst in CHS Class Seahorse Division
1995FastnetSecond in CHS Class 3
1996Antigua Classic Yacht RegattaFirst in Vintage Class
1996Brest to DouarnenezFirst out of approx. 2,000 boats
1996Douarnenez1stClassics First
1996Glandore Classic Regattaline honoursand best elapsed time, racing Dragons before our race, so 30 minutes late to start!
1997Bequia Easter RegattaFirst Overall in Cruising
1997Antigua Classic Yacht RegattaFirst Overall in Vintage Classes, Stormy Weather Trophy and First in Vintage Class